mittens for Dr. P., Part I

How do I get myself into theses situations?

H., a very good friend, has decided to make a scarf for her father. She is using a beautiful cashmere tweedy wool in a nice honey color.

N., a friend and coincidentally my mom-in-law, has decided that she will make him a lovely hat to go along with his scarf. She is using a nice tweedy dark brown yarn.

Thinking it would be nice to give Dr. P. a set for Christmas, I volunteered to use remnants of each of their yarns to knit up some mittens. This was my first error in judgment.

the yarns in question

These two yarns, while beautiful and wonderful in their own rights, could not be much different from each other. The first is a soft, honey, worsted weight yarn and the second is a dark, flecked with multi-color, sock weight yarn. Just touching the ball gives away their differences in life perspective. Okay, I thought – undeterred, a simple mitten with some striping on the cuff would be easy enough. I started knitting, using the sock weight as my guide for size as this would be the body of the mittens.

striping on the cuff

After finishing the cuff, I discovered the heavier weight cashmere had greatly added to the bulk of the cuff even though it was just a horizontal stripe. This resulted in a way-to0-wide cuff. Not exactly what I had in mind.

So, time to rethink my battle strategy. I am sure that this is knitting insanity, but who doesn’t want to flirt with mental imbalance now and again?

Ravelry Link: Winter Mittens

This entry was posted in Knits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to mittens for Dr. P., Part I

  1. Harriet says:

    You are such a sweetie for taking on this task. What ever happens, Dad will be thrilled! Love that you have started this blog. Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Noni says:

    The mittens will be great… I know you’ll get them figured out.

    Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

