toe-up

sock with sock blank

So I am working on attempting my first Toe-Up Socks. I have done a couple of pairs of socks in the past based on the Yarn Harlot’s fantastic top-down “Sock Recipe”. I am also working for the first time with a dyed “sock blank”. This has been so much fun to knit off of. The yarn just kinks out in an interesting variegation that I could not have guessed. Its like magic!

greenIt took me a little bit to get these started because the biggest hurdle was learning how to do the Turkish Cast On as required to produce toe-up socks. I looked up several illustrations and videos showing how to do it but none of them helped me find success. Finally, I found this video. Fantastic! Very easy to understand and very clear instruction. Once figuring that out, I was off…. and boy this first sock has gone so fast! If anyone out there is having a problem figuring out the Turkish or Eastern Cast On, I highly recommend that video. It was my life saver.

So now I have one finished sock, thankfully I don’t suffer from second sock syndrome. On to start the next one!

This entry was posted in Knits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to toe-up

  1. Michael-Lyn says:

    Cool Heather! The next thing to try is two-at-a-time socks, that way second sock syndrome isn’t even an issue! 🙂 I have yet to try that yet, but I have a book on it if you want to borrow it!

  2. Pat Light says:

    I saw that panel in pa. Too cute!

Leave a Reply

