vintage little sweater

It seems like I am finally getting around to taking some photos of the things I have been working on lately.

IMG_8181

I am so excited to share photos of a sweater I made for my little girl. I wanted to knit her a little sweater for her first birthday (back in December) and I did in fact finish it in time. I just never got around to taking photos of it! It was also a tad bit too big for her then and she is just starting to fit into it.

I wanted a sweater that was a little on the unisex side. I like rough and tumble type sweaters for wearing in the garden or out to the park, regardless of the fact that she is a sweet little girl. I was looking around for a pattern when I stumbled on a one-page article in Knitting Traditions Magazine about this Vintage Little Sweater. It was one of the very last pages in the magazine and it just sort of jumped out at me. The pattern was originally published in 1926 and was more of a written instruction than a simple to follow pattern. But I just loved the look of it. It was just what I had been looking for.

So I did a little stash diving and came up with a skein of Spud and Chloe Sweater that I had been gifted a while back. I got my hands on some extra (different dye lots) and started up. Of course the pattern had been written for sock weight yarn and I was using worsted so that required some changing. Then I was also changing the sizing… well by about 3 hours into trying to make a plan, I ended up just re-writting the pattern with the sizing and gauge I was looking for! The original pattern was also written to be knit flat and seemed later and I wanted a sweater that was nearly a one piece with very little seeming, another complication. Really, my sweater ended up being just inspired from the look of the original but itself a quite different pattern. Oh well! Who doesn’t want a little complication in their lives?

I am so happy with the end result. It is exactly what I had imagined. And the monster buttons are so cute and match the sweater so well. I look forward to using the heck out of this sweater in the coming months!

IMG_81IMG_8178

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to vintage little sweater

  1. Michael-Lyn says:

    And look how cute she looks in it! Great job, Heather!

  2. Jacqueline says:

    so sweet like the colour …perfect for spring

Leave a Reply

