mittens, with thumbs

First of all, a Happy Valentine’s Day to you all. These are the gorgeous roses my husband showed up with for our daughter for the sentimental day. She loves them. Who wouldn’t?

IMG_9687

Now for the knitting…

Unlike most babies, my daughter seemed to have no problem keeping her mittens on her hands when we were out for morning walks. It wasn’t until she wanted to start grasping things that we ran into a problem. But really, who wants to deal with the tiniest thumb on the face of the planet in order to produce mittens with a thumb for grabbing things?

I finally decided that she was big enough that I was ready to make her a first pair of mittens that would have thumbs. After an exhaustive search and a recommendation from a dear friend with kiddos of her own, I settled on these toddler mittens. I decided not to do the contrasting stripe as called for in the pattern and ended up using a lovely variegated wool from my stash that knit up even more beautifully than I could have dreamed.

IMG_9692 (1)

IMG_9690

I LOVE the finished mittens though they are still quite a bit too big for my petite 2-year-old. They came out so pretty and she loves playing with them so I am counting that as a win in the knits category.

IMG_9689

This entry was posted in Knits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

